North Dakota Barnes County Public Libraries

By | December 31, 2022

We are providing a comprehensive directory of public libraries in Barnes County, North Dakota. This list includes library formal name, street address, postal code, phone number and how many books are available. Check the following list to see all public libraries in North Dakota Barnes County.

Street Address: 410 North Central Avenue, Valley City, ND 58072
Phone Number: (701) 845-3821 Barnes 57,245 31,031

Street Address: 410 North Central Avenue, Valley City, ND 58072
Phone Number: (701) 845-3821 Barnes N/A N/A

Overview of Barnes County, North Dakota

Barnes County is a county located in the state of North Dakota. As of 2000, the population is 11,775. Its county seat is Valley City.

The Dakota Territory’s legislature authorized a Burbank County (named for governor John. A. Burbank) in 1872. But in 1874 they renamed it Barnes County in honor of Judge Alanson H. Barnes (1818-1890) who was an associate justice of the Territorial Court. It was finally organized in a meeting at Valley City on January 6, 1879.


According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 3,919 km² (1,513 mi²). 3,863 km² (1,492 mi²) of it is land and 56 km² (22 mi²) of it is water. The total area is 1.43% water.


As of the census of 2000, there are 11,775 people, 4,884 households, and 3,115 families residing in the county. The population density is 3/km² (8/mi²). There are 5,599 housing units at an average density of 1/km² (4/mi²). The racial makeup of the county is 97.91% White, 0.45% Black or African American, 0.76% Native American, 0.19% Asian, 0.00% Pacific Islander, 0.12% from other races, and 0.57% from two or more races. 0.54% of the population are Hispanic or Latino of any race.

There are 4,884 households out of which 27.40% have children under the age of 18 living with them, 53.90% are married couples living together, 6.80% have a female householder with no husband present, and 36.20% are non-families. 31.50% of all households are made up of individuals and 15.90% have someone living alone who is 65 years of age or older. The average household size is 2.29 and the average family size is 2.89.

In the county the population is spread out with 22.30% under the age of 18, 11.30% from 18 to 24, 23.00% from 25 to 44, 23.60% from 45 to 64, and 19.80% who are 65 years of age or older. The median age is 41 years. For every 100 females there are 96.80 males. For every 100 females age 18 and over, there are 95.40 males.

The median income for a household in the county is $31,166, and the median income for a family is $42,149. Males have a median income of $28,504 versus $18,447 for females. The per capita income for the county is $16,566. 10.80% of the population and 6.40% of families are below the poverty line. Out of the total population, 10.90% of those under the age of 18 and 10.90% of those 65 and older are living below the poverty line.

Cities and towns

According to countryaah, Barnes County, North Dakota has the following cities and towns:

  • Dazey
  • Fingal
  • Kathryn
  • Leal
  • Litchville
  • Nome
  • Oriska
  • Pillsbury
  • Rogers
  • Sanborn
  • Sibley
  • Tower City
  • Valley City
  • Wimbledon

Map of Barnes County North Dakota