North Carolina Macon County Public Libraries

By | December 31, 2022

We are providing a comprehensive directory of public libraries in Macon County, North Carolina. This list includes library formal name, street address, postal code, phone number and how many books are available. Check the following list to see all public libraries in North Carolina Macon County.

1. Branch Library HUDSON LIBRARY
Street Address: 554 Main Street, Highlands, NC 28741
Phone Number: (828) 526-3031 Macon N/A N/A

Street Address: 108 Wayah Street, Franklin, NC 28734
Phone Number: (828) 524-3600 Macon N/A N/A

Street Address: 128 Nantahala School Road, Topton, NC 28781
Phone Number: (828) 321-3020 Macon N/A N/A

Overview of Macon County, North Carolina

Macon County is a county located in the state of North Carolina. As of 2000, the population is 29,811. Its county seat is Franklin.


The county was formed in 1828 from the western part of Haywood County. It was named for Nathaniel Macon, who represented North Carolina in the United States House of Representatives from 1791 to 1815 (serving as Speaker of the House from 1801 to 1807), and in the United States Senate from 1815 to 1828.

In 1839 the western part of Macon County became Cherokee County. In 1851 parts of Macon County and Haywood County were combined to form Jackson County.

Law and government

Macon County is a member of the regional Southwestern Commission council of governments.


According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,345 km² (519 mi²). 1,338 km² (516 mi²) of it is land and 8 km² (3 mi²) of it is water. The total area is 0.58% water.


The county is divided into eleven townships: Burningtown, Cartoogechaye, Cowee, Ellijay, Flats, Franklin, Highlands, Millshoal, Nantahala, Smithbridge, and Sugarfork.

Adjacent Counties

  • Swain County, North Carolina- north
  • Jackson County, North Carolina- east
  • Rabun County, Georgia- south
  • Clay County, North Carolina- southwest
  • Cherokee County, North Carolina- west
  • Graham County, North Carolina- northwest

Geographic Features

The county’s largest natural water supply is the Cullasaja River.


As of the census of 2000, there are 29,811 people, 12,828 households, and 8,902 families residing in the county. The population density is 22/km² (58/mi²). There are 20,746 housing units at an average density of 16/km² (40/mi²). The racial makeup of the county is 97.18% White, 1.20% Black or African American, 0.28% Native American, 0.39% Asian, 0.02% Pacific Islander, 0.31% from other races, and 0.63% from two or more races. 1.52% of the population are Hispanic or Latino of any race.

There are 12,828 households out of which 24.80% have children under the age of 18 living with them, 58.50% are married couples living together, 8.00% have a female householder with no husband present, and 30.60% are non-families. 27.00% of all households are made up of individuals and 13.60% have someone living alone who is 65 years of age or older. The average household size is 2.28 and the average family size is 2.74.

In the county the population is spread out with 20.30% under the age of 18, 6.10% from 18 to 24, 23.20% from 25 to 44, 27.90% from 45 to 64, and 22.40% who are 65 years of age or older. The median age is 45 years. For every 100 females there are 92.10 males. For every 100 females age 18 and over, there are 88.40 males.

The median income for a household in the county is $32,139, and the median income for a family is $37,381. Males have a median income of $28,113 versus $20,081 for females. The per capita income for the county is $18,642. 12.60% of the population and 8.80% of families are below the poverty line. Out of the total population, 16.00% of those under the age of 18 and 11.80% of those 65 and older are living below the poverty line.


According to countryaah, Macon County, North Carolina has the following cities and towns:

Official townships are listed, each followed by its incorporated towns in bold and other unincorporated communities:

  • Franklin (central)
    • Franklin
    • Iotla
  • Highlands (southeast)
    • Highlands
    • Scaly Mountain
  • Sugarfork (east-southeast)
    • Cullasaja
    • Peek’s Creek
  • Burningtown (north-northwest)
  • Cartoogechaye (west-southwest)
  • Cowee (north-northeast)
  • Ellijay (east)
  • Nantahala (northwest)
  • Smithbridge, originally Smith’s Bridge (south-southwest)
  • Millshoal (east-northeast)
  • Flats (south-central)

Communities where correct township is unconfirmed:

  • Otto
  • Aquone
  • Etna
  • Kyle
  • Leatherman
  • Rainbow Springs
  • Prentiss
  • West’s Mill
  • Gneiss

Map of Macon County North Carolina