Minnesota Aitkin County Public Libraries

By | December 31, 2022

We are providing a comprehensive directory of public libraries in Aitkin County, Minnesota. This list includes library formal name, street address, postal code, phone number and how many books are available. Check the following list to see all public libraries in Minnesota Aitkin County.

Street Address: 110 1st Avenue NE, Aitkin, MN 56431
Phone Number: (218) 927-2339 Aitkin N/A N/A

Street Address: Center STREET., Mcgregor, MN 55760
Phone Number: (218) 768-3305 Aitkin N/A N/A

Overview of Aitkin County, Minnesota

Aitkin County is a county located in the state of Minnesota. As of 2000, the population is 15,301. Its county seat is Aitkin. A portion of the Mille Lacs Indian Reservation is in the county.


According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 5,168 km² (1,995 mi²). 4,712 km² (1,819 mi²) of it is land and 456 km² (176 mi²) of it is water. The total area is 8.82% water.

The county contains what is locally referred to as the Atkin Bog, a swampy area extending north from Atkin to within about 10 miles of Hill City. Highway 6 runs through it. Until relatively recently, there were no buildings of any kind through its entire length, making it a most unpleasant spot to suffer a breakdown.

Adjacent counties

  • Itasca County (north)
  • Louis County (northeast)
  • Carlton County (east)
  • Pine County (southeast)
  • Kanabec County (south)
  • Mille Lacs County (south)
  • Crow Wing County (southwest)
  • Cass County (northwesst)


As of the census of 2000, there are 15,301 people, 6,644 households, and 4,458 families residing in the county. The population density is 3/km² (8/mi²). There are 14,168 housing units at an average density of 3/km² (8/mi²). The racial makeup of the county is 96.41% White, 0.23% Black or African American, 2.28% Native American, 0.20% Asian, 0.02% Pacific Islander, 0.16% from other races, and 0.71% from two or more races. 0.60% of the population are Hispanic or Latino of any race.

There are 6,644 households out of which 22.60% have children under the age of 18 living with them, 57.50% are married couples living together, 6.30% have a female householder with no husband present, and 32.90% are non-families. 28.70% of all households are made up of individuals and 14.00% have someone living alone who is 65 years of age or older. The average household size is 2.28 and the average family size is 2.76.

In the county the population is spread out with 20.90% under the age of 18, 5.50% from 18 to 24, 21.60% from 25 to 44, 29.10% from 45 to 64, and 23.00% who are 65 years of age or older. The median age is 46 years. For every 100 females there are 101.60 males. For every 100 females age 18 and over, there are 99.90 males.

The median income for a household in the county is $31,139, and the median income for a family is $37,290. Males have a median income of $31,604 versus $20,633 for females. The per capita income for the county is $17,848. 11.60% of the population and 8.20% of families are below the poverty line. Out of the total population, 15.50% of those under the age of 18 and 11.00% of those 65 and older are living below the poverty line.

Cities and towns

According to countryaah, Aitkin County, Minnesota has the following cities and towns:


  • Aitkin
  • Hill City
  • McGrath
  • McGregor
  • Palisade
  • Tamarack


  • Aitkin Township
  • Ball Bluff Township
  • Balsam Township
  • Beaver Township
  • Clark Township
  • Cornish Township
  • Farm Island Township
  • Fleming Township
  • Glen Township
  • Haugen Township
  • Hazelton Township
  • Hill Lake Township
  • Idun Township
  • Jevne Township
  • Kimberly Township
  • Lakeside Township
  • Lee Township
  • Libby Township
  • Logan Township
  • Macville Township
  • Malmo Township
  • McGregor Township
  • Millward Township
  • Morrison Township
  • Nordland Township
  • Pliny Township
  • Rice River Township
  • Salo Township
  • Seavey Township
  • Shamrock Township
  • Spalding Township
  • Spencer Township
  • Turner Township
  • Verdon Township
  • Wagner Township
  • Waukenabo Township
  • Wealthwood Township
  • White Pine Township
  • Williams Township
  • Workman Township


  • Davidson
  • Jewett
  • Northeast Aitkin
  • Northwest Aitkin

Map of Aitkin County Minnesota