Dominican Republic Mountains, Rivers and Lakes

By | March 14, 2023

According to, the Dominican Republic is located on the eastern side of the Caribbean Sea, bordering Haiti to the west. It is the second largest country in the Caribbean, covering an area of 48,441 square kilometers. The country has a tropical climate, with temperatures ranging from 23 to 33 degrees Celsius throughout the year.

The Dominican Republic is made up of three distinct geographical regions: The Cordillera Central, which stretches as a mountain range across the center of the country; The Cibao Valley, which lies in between two mountain ranges and contains some of the most fertile lands in all of Latin America; and The Southern Coastal Plain, a region that consists mostly of limestone plains and mangrove swamps.

The Cordillera Central is home to some of the highest points in all of Hispaniola Island, including Pico Duarte (the highest peak at 3175 meters above sea level). This mountain range also contains many national parks and protected areas such as Parque Nacional Armando Bermudez and Parque Nacional Isla Cabritos. The Cibao Valley contains some of the most fertile agricultural land in Latin America due to its rich volcanic soils. This region is known for its production of tobacco, coffee, cocoa and sugarcane. Finally, The Southern Coastal Plain is home to many beautiful white sand beaches such as Playa Bavaro and Playa Dominicus which are popular tourist destinations.

In addition to its diverse geography, Dominican Republic also hosts numerous rivers such as Yaque del Norte River (the longest river in Hispaniola) Rio Ozama (which flows through Santo Domingo) and Rio Yuna (which flows through Santiago de los Caballeros). These rivers are important sources for irrigation and hydroelectric power generation for both domestic use and export. Furthermore, Lake Enriquillo serves as an important source for salt production for local industry.


The Dominican Republic is home to a variety of mountain ranges, many of which offer breathtaking views and unforgettable experiences. The Cordillera Central is the largest range in the country and contains the highest peak in the Caribbean, Pico Duarte. This peak stands at an impressive 10,128 feet tall and is a popular destination for hikers. The Sierra de Neiba is located in southwestern Dominican Republic and is known for its unique rock formations. It also contains two of the most important peaks in Dominican Republic: Monte Alto and Loma Siete Picos. Monte Alto stands at 8,934 feet and Loma Siete Picos at 8,845 feet. The Sierra de Bahoruco is another mountain range located near the Haitian border that features many picturesque vistas. It also contains two notable peaks: La Pelona (7,062 feet) and La Rucilla (7,267 feet). Finally, there are smaller mountain ranges scattered throughout the country such as Sierra de Yamasa which offers stunning views from its highest peak La Pelona (5,488 feet).


The Yaque del Norte is the longest river in the Dominican Republic, stretching for a total of 184 miles. It originates in the Cordillera Central mountain range, then flows through Santiago and Montecristi before finally emptying into the Caribbean Sea. The Yaque del Norte is a major source of hydroelectric power for the country and provides irrigation to many of its agricultural areas.

The Artibonito River is another major river in the Dominican Republic. It runs for an impressive 155 miles, making it the second longest river in the country. It also originates in the Cordillera Central mountain range, but flows through Haiti before emptying into Lake Enriquillo on the border between Haiti and Dominican Republic. The Artibonito River provides irrigation to both countries’ agricultural areas and is used as a natural boundary between them.

The River Yuna is another important river located in western Dominican Republic. Stretching for 137 miles, it originates from Lake Enriquillo before flowing through several cities including San Francisco de Macoris and La Vega, then emptying into Samana Bay. The Yuna River provides water to many areas of western Dominican Republic and has been used as a source of hydroelectric power since its construction in 1946.

Finally, there is Rio Ozama which starts from La Vega city and flows through Santo Domingo before entering Caribbean Sea near Haina city. This river has been since ancient times an important part of local history – it was here where Christopher Columbus first landed during his exploration voyage to America back in 1492! Today Rio Ozama serves as an important waterway for transportation purposes and its tributaries are used for irrigation purposes by local farmers.


The Dominican Republic is home to several major lakes. The largest lake in the country is Lake Enriquillo, located in the southwestern region of the country. It has an area of approximately 890 square kilometers and is the lowest-lying lake in the Caribbean. The lake has a saltwater environment, due to its proximity to the ocean, and is home to a variety of unique species including crocodiles, turtles, and iguanas. It also serves as a refuge for many migratory birds and other wildlife. Other major lakes include Lake Azuei, which is located near Haiti’s border with the Dominican Republic and has an area of over 600 square kilometers; Lake Cibao, which is located in the northern part of the country and covers an area of almost 400 square kilometers; and Lake Miragoane in Haiti which covers approximately 200 square kilometers. Each of these lakes supports diverse aquatic life and provides important ecological services for both countries.

Dominican Republic Mountains